Freshworks for Startups is not a venture fund — it is the startup programme of Freshworks, the Nasdaq-listed Indian SaaS major — and Freshworks for Startups funding here means credits and discounts on the company's CX and employee-experience software rather than equity cheques. Launched in 2019, the programme says it has helped more than 2,500 startups, including Indian names like Dunzo, Loophealth, Zumen, Khatabook and Uni Cards, with Chargebee featured in the official launch press release as an early believer in Freshdesk, Freshmarketer and Freshsales.
Freshworks for Startups funding: credits and perks
The headline perk historically marketed is up to $10,000 in credits across the Freshworks suite, with Freshstack — the Freshdesk + Freshsales + Freshmarketer bundle — carrying up to $3,000 in credits, per the official Freshworks press release of 11 November 2021. Partner pages describe the $10,000 split as roughly $1,250 per product across eight products: Freshsales (CRM), Freshmarketer (marketing automation), Freshdesk (support desk, messaging, contact centre, omnichannel), Freshteam (HR) and Freshservice (ITSM). Beyond credits, the programme offers white-glove onboarding, mentorship from functional leaders, office hours, VC and investor connects, and co-marketing.
How the model works now
Founders should know the model has evolved. The programme's governing terms (effective 9 February 2023) shifted new registrations to a Discount Model on Pro plans for partner-referred startups, capped at 30 agents per product, with the old Credit Model and the Discount Model mutually exclusive. Partner-track terms published by Quest Ventures illustrate the shape: up to 90% off year one for startups with $4M or less in total funding, 75% off year one for $4M–$10M, then 50% off in year two and 25% from year three. Exact discount percentages and funding thresholds for new applicants are set per startup in a service order form and are not publicly disclosed. One important honesty note: the old public landing page at freshworks.com/for-startups/ now returns a 404 — the programme currently runs through partner referrals, not a live public application page.
Eligibility
Per the programme terms: new customers only (existing paid Freshworks customers are excluded), a maximum of 30 agents per product, and a partner code or referral is required. Stages named by the programme span idea, pre-seed, seed and Series A; Quest Ventures' track requires the startup to be a partner portfolio company that has not raised a Series B or beyond, with bootstrapped startups eligible. Company-age and revenue limits are not publicly disclosed.
How to apply for funding
There is no live public application form on freshworks.com today. The current route is a Freshworks startup partner's referral link or code — for example, sign up on the Freshworks site and select 'Quest Ventures' under the "Startup Partner" dropdown, or apply through partner channels such as YNOS and accelerator partners. So how to get funding from Freshworks for Startups is really: get referred by one of its startup partners, complete signup, and the programme team responds — partner trackers note an application turnaround of about 7 working days. Ask for the exact credit or discount terms in writing before you commit, since the credits-era marketing and the current discount model differ.
Why it matters for founders
CRM, support and marketing tooling is a real early-stage cost — up to $10,000 in credits (or deep partner-track discounts) plus investor connects from a Nasdaq-listed Indian SaaS company is genuinely useful non-dilutive value. Just apply with eyes open: the public credits page is gone, so confirm your exact terms through the partner referral.